Green River Lights

Designer Lisa Ward, custom lighting shop Lite Brite Neon, and Epicenter, through the National Endowment for the Arts Our Town Program, created a neon welcome sign for Green River, a neon sign on the Green River Coffee Company, and partially refurbished the La Veracruzana sign.

To celebrate the unveiling of these new signs on Main Street, Epicenter and the City of Green River hosted the first annual “Ignite the Night” on South Broadway. Marisa Frantz and Lisa Ward put on a fireworks* show to kick off the event, culminating in the lighting of a bonfire in front of the firehouse. Inside, Clive Romney, Executive Director of Utah Pioneer Heritage Arts, with Hank Mason and Jana Wells of Grand Junction performed original songs of Utah’s rural heritage, pioneers, and folktales. Clive also held music and storytelling workshops throughout the week for the youth of Green River at the High School, Book Cliff Elementary, Pyramid Youth Programs (PACT), and the Green River Library.

Also unveiled at Ignite the Night was [light], a prototype for a lighted-bench designed in partnership with Erin Carraher and the University of Utah: College of Architecture + Planning. [light], a design by architecture student Waly Pont, is currently on display in front of Epicenter (180 South Broadway, Green River, Utah). The prototype will soon be fabricated, duplicated, and installed in pairs on Main Street.

This project and event was made possible with support from: AmeriCorps VISTA, Ryan Baxter, Bryan Brooks, Erin Carraher, City of Green River, Alison Jean Cole, Steph Crabtree, Phil Engleman, Marisa Frantz, Amber Furrer, Mike Goode, The Green River Coffee Company, Green River EMS, Green River Fire Department, Jarod Hamm, Christopher Henderson, Mary Holyoke, La Veracruzana restaurant, Chris Lezama, Lite Brite Neon, Juan Lovato, Kitty Marshall, Hank Mason, Oregon Arts Commission, PACT, Gwen Peck, P&L Electrical, Sara Polito, Waly Pont, Justin Queen, The River Terrace Inn, Robber’s Roost Motel, Clive Romney, Sorenson Legacy Foundation, Nate Stapley, Maria Sykes, Steve & Juanita Sykes, University of Utah: College of Architecture + Planning, Utah Pioneer Heritage Arts, Lisa Ward, Lesa Weihing-Madsen, Jana Wells, Amy Wilmarth, Colin Zaug, and the Green River community.

*The fireworks were not paid for by the NEA.